Print Page  |  Sign In  |  Register
Scholarships & Awards
Share |

NODA Association Awards
Presented at the NODA Annual Conference

Submissions are due by September 18, 2017 (8:00AM CST)



NODA presents awards and scholarships at the national and regional level. National recognition is presented at the Annual Conference every fall, and regional awards are presented each spring at each region's conference. Some award winners at the regional level are automatically considered for the award at the national level (see award descriptions for details).



2017 Award Winners



Scholarships and Awards Categories

Outstanding Graduate Student Leadership Award* 
This award recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated service to the NODA, and/or to the orientation, retention and transition profession. 


Outstanding New OTR Professional* 
This award recognizes a new orientation, retention and transition professional who has contributed to their campus orientation to their campus orientation program, staff success, creativity and outstanding abilities with less than 4 years of experience.


Outstanding OTR Professional*
This award recognizes outstanding contributions of a NODA professional to the field of orientation, transition, and retention with 8+ years of experience.

Innovative Program* 
The Innovative Program Award is presented annually by NODA to a program or unique approach to a challenging situation and/or specific campus concern or need. It is the goal of NODA to recognize leaders and generate new knowledge within the field of orientation, transition and retention. This award seeks to recognize innovative and effective approaches that help university officials meet the changing needs on college and university campuses. It is also an opportunity to highlight good administrative and other practices and share different approaches to meeting student needs with colleagues at other institutions.


Outstanding Mentor 
This award is designed to give special recognition to those professionals who provide outstanding mentorship and guidance to graduate students who aid in orientation and transition programs within our association, and on your campuses. In order to be considered, the nominee must have been involved in orientation, transition or retention programs between September 2016 and September 2017.


Outstanding NODA Intern 
This award recognizes up to two (2) interns who have demonstrated commitment to learning and professional development and service through the successful completion of a NODA internship experience.


Norman K Russell Scholarship 
The Norman K. Russell Scholarship is awarded to recognize and assist graduate or doctoral students who have demonstrated a strong commitment to orientation, retention and transition, who will contribute to the enhancement of the orientation field, and who is currently enrolled as a graduate student in orientation-related fields. Up to three $1,000 scholarships (one of which may be awarded to a doctoral student) will be announced at the annual conference. Scholarships are sent through each recipient’s financial aid office for distribution of funds.


Graduate Student Network (GSN) Annual Conference Fee Waiver Award
The Graduate Student Network is pleased to award an Annual Conference Fee Waiver to one graduate student annually (Doctoral students are not eligible for this award). This award will allow a graduate student member to take advantage of the multitude of educational and professional development opportunities at the NODA Annual Conference.

*The winners of these awards at the regional level will automatically be considered for the same award at the national level.

 Click here to view the requirements of submitting an award/scholarship nomination 

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News
Featured Members