This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
HBCU Summit
Share |

Historically Black Colleges and
Universities Summit

Date: TBD

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Summit takes place at the 2020 NODA Annual Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Summit programming will happen over two days, October 26-27, 2020.

As an organization, NODA understands the transition and retention issues faced at historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) are unique and often not discussed through traditional professional development opportunities. Therefore, a major focus for NODA's Annual Conference is to ensure all OTR professionals are given ample access to professional development. Over the past few years, NODA conference assessments revealed a common trend with our HBCU faculty and staff members attending the annual conference and leaving unfulfilled and less empowered. With this analysis, we look to address the concerns by offering a HBCU Summit.

The  HBCU Summit at NODA will provide HBCU professionals the opportunity to gather to create meaningful and solution based dialogue around the challenges and opportunities of doing the work of OTR at their institutions. The HBCU Summit workshops will be comprised of HBCU leaders from across the country meeting to empower, uplift and educate participants. 


You can register for the Summit by selecting the option on the second page of the Annual Conference Registration form. You do not need to attend the conference in order to attend the Summit. If this is the case, you must select that you will not be attending the Annual Conference when you complete the registration form.

2019 Featured Speakers

Dr. Tashni-Ann Dubroy
Executive Vice President & COO,
Howard University

Dr. Tiffany Beth Mfume
Assistant Vice President for Student Success & Retention,
Morgan State University

Dr. Tony Allen
Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs,
Delaware State University

2019 Summit Planning Committee

Ronnie Mack
Assistant Director of
Orientation and Communication,
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

Jaque Powers
Interim, Associate Vice Provost
for Enrollment Management,
North Carolina Agricultural
and Technical State University

Kristin Gray
Director of First-Year Programs,
Tennessee State University

Whitney Jones
Associate Director of Orientation,
Baylor University

Georgia Sawyer
Director of New
Student and Family Programs,
North Carolina Central University

Quentin Giles
Director of Student
Involvement and Leadership,
Lane College

Myra Lumpkin
Director of Student Life,
Services and Student Engagement
Kettering University

Vincent Phillips
Senior Coordinator
for Welcome Programs,
Baylor University

Kelsey McRae
Assistant Director of New
Student and Family Programs,
North Carolina Central University

Nakita Saxon
Assistant Director of Retention
and First-Year Programs,
Harris-Stowe State University

1.866.521.NODA (6632) | 1200 S Washington Ave, Suite 215, Minneapolis, MN 55415